Italian Property For Sale

Latest lock-down restrictions

Published: 08/02/2021 By The Abode Team

While most regions of Italy are now lower-risk 'yellow zones', several local hotspots have been placed on higher alert. Currently all but four parts of Italy are classed yellow under the government's tier system of Covid-19 restrictions, based on health data showing that incidence and reproduction numbers across the regions have improved.

However, some local authorities have declared mini red zones in towns or provinces that have seen a spike in cases. That's the case for hotspots in Umbria, Molise, Abruzzo, Tuscany and Campania as well the entire autonomous province of Bolzano, which are effectively under temporary lockdown despite being surrounded by yellow or orange zones.

Where are Italy's local red zones?

  • Trentino-Alto Adige: autonomous province of Bolzano - While the province is technically an orange zone, the local government has effectively upped the restrictions to red, starting from Monday, February 8th until at least Sunday, February 28th. The autonomous province of Trento, one of two that make up the region of Trentino-Alto Adige, remains a yellow zone.

  • Umbria: province of Perugia and parts of province of Terni - The whole of the province of Perugia, as well as the comuni of Amelia, Attigliano, Calvi dell’Umbria, Lugnano in Teverina, Montegabbione and San Venanzo in the province of Terni, are under stricter red restrictions while the rest of Umbria remains orange. The heightened local measures come into effect on Monday, February 8th until Sunday, February 21st.

  • Molise: 27 municipalities - Molise has declared red zones in the following comuni, mainly clustered in the east of the region: Termoli, Acquaviva Collecroce, Casacalenda, Castelmauro, Civitacampomarano, Colletorto, Guardialfiera, Guglionesi, Larino, Mafalda, Montecilfone, Montefalcone del Sannio, Montemitro, Montenero di Bisaccia, Montorio nei Frentani, Palata, Petacciato, Portocannone, Ripabottoni, Rotello, San Felice del Molise, San Giacomo degli Schiavoni, San Giuliano di Puglia, San Martino in Pensilis, Santa Croce di Magliano, Tavenna and Ururi. The extra restrictions apply from Monday, February 8th until Sunday, February 21st. All other parts of the region remain under yellow zone rules.

  • Abruzzo: three municipalities - Three comuni have been red zones since February 6th: Atessa and San Giovanni Teatino in the province of Chieti, and Tocco da Casauria in the province of Pescara. They will remain red until at least February 13th, while the rest of Abruzzo is yellow.

  • Tuscany: municipality of Chiusi - The town of Chiusi in the province of Siena has been declared a red zone for one week, from February 7th to 14th. The rest of Tuscany is yellow.

  • Campania: municipality of Piaggine - The town of Piaggine in the province of Salerno has been a red zone since February 6th and is expected to remain on high alert until at least February 13th. The rest of Campania is yellow.
We have done our best to make this list complete, but please be aware that additional local restrictions may be in place. Always check the official website for your region or comune for the latest rules where you are.

What are the rules in red zones?

Red zones are under a form of lockdown similar to the one declared across Italy in the first wave of the Covid-19 pandemic: residents are urged to stay at home except for essentials and may not travel to other towns without an urgent reason. Residents are allowed to go out for exercise, but should do so alone and stay close to home. Bars and restaurants are closed except for takeaway or delivery, while only essential shops and businesses can open. High schools must teach remotely, though middle and elementary schools may be allowed to conduct at least some of their lessons in person.